This year’s Christmas card competition prize giving event was another huge success; with more schools and children taking part than ever before. There were also more business sponsors this year than ever which allowed Jon and his team to make the competition prizes bigger and better than ever before. The overall winner Kamila Andziulyte from Marsh Green Primary School was asked what she wanted for Christmas up to £250 – she chose a top of the range 16gb Samsung Galaxy Tablet PC. The runners-up received £100 tablet PC’s each and one got a £50 Tesco voucher whilst the other received £50 Waterstone’s vouchers.

As with previous years two winners were chosen from Trinity School who both received prizes up to the amount of £50 as well as the goody bags received by the school winners. Every school that took part (18 this year!) had a winner and runner-up that received goody bags containing: The latest Disney DVD, a Dagenham & Redbridge FC teddy bear, £10 cinema voucher, £10 toy shop voucher, a tube of sweets, a chocolate Santa, and a copy of the winning card.

The school with the most entries; William Bellamy also won a meal for two which was kindly donated by Kusadasi Taverna in Rainham.

The winning card will also be the official Christmas card for Jon Cruddas MP and will be sent out to the Shadow Cabinet, and 3,000 of Jon’s helpers, volunteers and prominent members of the community.

Jon Cruddas said: “Another year, and yet another fantastic event. We start organising the competition from July onwards every year and it is always worth it. I was pleased to see lots of schools taking part for the first time, as well as many new businesses supporting the competition. I hope it continues to grow. The winner this year was brilliant but it was another hard decision with so many quality entries from our talented young people.”

Jon’s staff added: “It’s always the highlight of the year for us! The children have a great time and it’s a lovely event. This year was better than ever.”

The schools that took part this year were: Warren Junior School, William Ford Church of England School, Beam County Primary School, The Leys Primary School, Marsh Green Primary School, Rush Green Primary School, Scargill Infants School, Brady Primary School, Newtons Primary School, Parsonage Farm Primary School, Rainham Village Primary School, William Bellamy Primary School, Marks Gate Infants School, Marks Gate Junior School, St. Joseph’s Catholic School, Trinity School, John Perry Primary School, and Whybridge Junior School.